Natural beauty products

Read your beauty product labels and easy body scrub recipe

 

For years now, I’ve been concerned with the ingredients in my skin care products. Some of these ingredients I can’t even pronounce. But it’s not their complicated name that concerned me, it was the potential damage they can do to us. Here are my top three biggest pet peeves.

  • Parabens: This was a buzz word for a while, the concern is that they are deemed xenoestrogens, which is a fancy word for saying that they mimic estrogen in the body. This disruption of estrogen has been linked to breast cancer and reproductive issues. Yes! reproductive issues. So in my struggle with infertility for 4 years you know this is the first one I eliminated (needles to say I dumped bags and bags full of shampoos, lotions, make-up! this stuff is everywhere. Luckily, many companies are starting to make their products Paraben Free.

 

  • Here’s another endocrine disruptors! and when the endocrine system is disrupted, there’s an increased risk of breast cancer also early breast development in girls, and reproductive birth defects in males and females. Unfortunately, it is not disclosed on every product as it’s added to fragrances (shaking my head). They can be found in deodorants, perfumes/cologne, hair sprays and moisturizer.

 

  • Sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) / Sodium laureth sulfate (SLES). This can be found in more than 90 percent of personal care and cleaning products. They are known to be skin, lung, and eye irritants. A major concern is its potential to interact and combine with other chemicals to form nitrosamines, a carcinogen. These combinations can lead to a host of other issues like kidney and respiratory damage. They can be found in shampoo, body wash/cleanser, mascara and acne treatment. Scary!!!!

 

Now don’t panic (like I did), if you have some beauty products that contain this stuff, just get rid of it, or use what’s left of it and don’t buy it again. I’m a firm believer in supply and demand, if we all stop buying this trash they will have not choice but to stop making them. The only way to really know for sure what you are putting on your and your loved ones skin. There are many easy to follow recipes with all natural ingredients that are only good for your skin. I’ve been doing them for a while now and they are a lot of  fun to do. Plus I get to customize them to my liking.

Here’s an easy DIY body scrub Recipe (but if you don’t feel like shopping around for all the ingredients and having a bunch left over…I have easy to follow complete kits in my etsy shop www.blenditnaturals.etsy.com

1 cup of Himalayan Pink Salt

3 tablespoons of coconut oil

20 drops of essential oil

Melt the coconut using a double boiler, add essential oils and mix. Add the mixture to salt and mix well. Voila! You are done. Scoop a small amount, rub on desired skin areas and rinse.

Be sure to subscribe for more recipes and tips. You will also be the first to know about any new Blendit Natural products.

 

Don’t forget to visit my Esty shop www.blenditnaturals.etsy.com

 

 

Leave a comment